JEE (Advanced)-2014 will be jointly conducted by IIT Bombay, IIT Delhi, IIT Guwahati, IIT Kanpur, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Madras and IIT Roorkee. There are sixteen IITs at present, located at Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Delhi, Gandhinagar, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Jodhpur, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Mandi, Mumbai, Patna, Ropar, Roorkee and Varanasi. 

Date of examination: Usually the last Sunday of May or first Sunday of June

Type of examination: In JEE (Advanced)-2014, there will be two pen and paper based (no online exam) objective type papers, each of three hours duration having one hour each for Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics.

Eligibility Criteria: Candidates who wish to write JEE (Advanced) - 2014 must write the Paper-1 of JEE (Main)-2014 in the month of April 2014. Only top 1, 50,000 candidates (including all categories) qualified in Paper-1 of JEE (Main) - 2014 will be eligible to appear for JEE (Advanced) -2014. Distribution of top 1, 50,000 candidates across various categories in the merit list of JEE (Main)-2014 are as follows: 

 Top 75750 (50.5%) from the common merit list (CML) 

 Top 40500 (27%) from Other Backward Classes-Non creamy layer OBC(NCL), 

 Top 22500 (15%) from Scheduled Caste(SC) 

 Top 11250 (7.5%) from Scheduled Tribe(ST) candidates 

 “Admission to IITs and ISM Dhanbad will be based only on category wise All India Rank (AIR) in JEE (Advanced)-2014 subject to the condition that such candidates are among the top 20 percentile of successful candidates of their Boards in respective categories”

Number of attempts: Only 2 consecutive attempts are allowed in JEE Advanced i.e. the year of passing 12th & the next year.